Reflecting on My Journey as a Developer in 2022 - Dev Retro 2022

Reflecting on My Journey as a Developer in 2022 - Dev Retro 2022

2022 was my start into developer's life

Start

In 2022, I began my journey as a developer. I had always been interested in technology and wanted to learn how to build my own websites and apps. As a computer science student in my first semester of college, I decided to start learning to code.

I started by learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. These languages seemed like the foundation for building web applications, and I wanted to get a solid understanding of them before moving on to more advanced topics.

How I started

To learn these languages, I purchased courses on Udemy. The platform provided a structured learning experience, with video lectures, quizzes, and projects to help me practice my skills. It was my first time coding, and I faced a lot of challenges at the beginning. There was so much new information to take in, and I had to learn a lot of new concepts and techniques. It was overwhelming at times, but I was determined to keep going.

To make coding more fun, I tried to find ways to apply what I was learning to my own projects. I built a personal website and experimented with different design elements and features. I also found online resources and tutorials that helped me learn more about coding and how to troubleshoot problems.

How I continued

As I continued to learn and improve my skills, I became more confident in my abilities as a developer. I started to look for opportunities to collaborate with other developers and learn from them. That's when I discovered online communities like BlueLearn, MarkitUp. These communities provided a wealth of knowledge and resources for developers of all levels, and I was able to connect with other like-minded individuals who were also interested in learning and growing as developers.

I joined these communities and started participating in online discussions and forums. I learned a lot from the experienced developers in these communities, and I was able to share my own experiences and insights with others. It was a great way to stay motivated and engaged in my development journey.

While I was learning to code and participating in online communities, I also had to manage my studies in college. It was a balancing act, but I was able to stay organized and manage my time effectively by using tools like Notion to keep track of my tasks and deadlines.

What I want to do in future

As I look to the future, I am excited about the possibilities that my skills as a developer will bring. I plan to continue learning and expanding my knowledge in areas like backend development and machine learning. I also hope to contribute to open source projects and start blogging regularly to make a meaningful impact in the development community.